Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for March 19th, 2010

You know the principle of Occam’s Razor?  You know, the meta-theoretical principle that “entities must not be multiplied beyond necessity” (Wiki)?  Simply put, the simplest explanation is usually the correct one.  (Who knew that I was even aware of any meta-theoretical principles?)  Well, not long ago, I actually had an experience in real life that illustrated it.

Exhibit A:

A recently woven cotton and silk wrap.  I love it.  It’s soft and big enough that it’s definitely not a scarf.  Once it was finished, of course it needed to be wet dressed, so I gently immersed it in the usual manner and let it get good and wet.  Rinsed it carefully, and rolled it in a towel.  Now, at this point of the proceedings I generally put a hand towel on a hanger and hang up the scarf to dry, but as mentioned above, the wrap is about 18 inches wide, and none of my hangers are that wide.  Time to put on the thinking cap.  (foreshadowing:  sometimes if you put a big point on the top of the thinking cap, it becomes another kind of hat.  No, not a KKK hat or a witch’s hat.)

Exhibit B:

My ordinary hangers.  My yardstick (or meter stick, if you prefer to turn it over).  I examined the hooks on the hangers, then the yardstick, and a big lightbulb flashed on over my head.

Exhibit C:

Yes!  It worked! Now I just needed to find a place that I could hang the contraption.   This leads us to …

Exhibit D:

The shower curtain rod in the bathroom.  (Raise your hand if you see where this is going.)

I was so pleased at my cleverness that it took a few minutes to realize that I had indeed taken the scenic route to the ultimate destination:

Duh.

Read Full Post »