Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for July 15th, 2011

First of all, an apology for yesterday’s rather melodramatic post.  Overcast rain-y thunder-y lightning-y weather tends to darken my mood.  Yes, there was water on the basement floor, right where it came in before (in my playroom, of course) which is, of course, one of the areas that was supposedly fixed before we poured ten thousand dollars worth of concrete on that side of the house.  So here’s what I have deduced:  The guy fixing the cracks on the outside of the foundation missed one.  The guy putting in the gate at the edge of the concrete has dug a hole and cemented in the gatepost, but since the gate hasn’t been installed yet (that’s supposed to be on the 12th- reference Donny Osmond song from the 60’s; ask me if you need help with that) the hole hasn’t been filled and the landscaping hasn’t been raised at the corner of the house.  Rain+hole+gravity+mystery crack= some water in the basement and a bad attitude for a few hours until the sun came out.  We are going ahead with the carpet install in a few weeks, and I am moving into my splayroom by the end of August come hell or high water.  (That takes on a more literal meaning these days.)  Thank you for all the supporting indignation.

Now, to justify the “now we’re cookin’ ” title of today’s post, I have just consumed my first Green Monster.   My older son put me onto this, and while I don’t think I’ll do it every day, it can’t hurt once in a while.  Whoever knew that bananas, blueberries and spinach could taste so good?  And don’t I look better?

There has been a modicum of knitting here, but truthfully (and don’t tell the Chancellor of the Exchequer) most of the Fibre Energy has gone into Stash Enhancement.  A little bit here, and a little bit there.  It all feeds the mojo.

 

 

 

Read Full Post »